Exxon Mobil’s Rex W. Tillerson chosen as 2015 “Petroleum Executive of the Year”

He was chosen for the 2015 award by a group of top global oil industry executives, and he is the 19th winner of the peer-selected honor.

Energy Intelligence announced today that Rex W. Tillerson, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Exxon Mobil Corporation, has been named Petroleum Executive of the Year for 2015. He was chosen for the 2015 award by a group of top global oil industry executives, and he is the 19th winner of this highly regarded, peer-selected honor. The award will be presented to Mr. Tillerson on October 6th at an honorary dinner during the 36th Annual Oil & Money Conference in London. Energy Intelligence jointly convenes the Oil & Money Conference with the International New York Times.

“The selection of Rex Tillerson as this year’s winner reflects his highly successful leadership of Exxon Mobil, where he has further enhanced the company’s widely respected reputation for strong operational performance, financial discipline, project execution and technological innovation,” said Thomas Wallin, editor-in-chief and executive vice president of Energy Intelligence.

Rex Tillerson was appointed Chairman and CEO of Exxon Mobil in January 2006, guiding the company successfully through a tumultuous period for the industry and maintaining Exxon Mobil’s position as the largest private sector international oil company. He previously served in a variety of roles at Exxon Mobil, including executive vice president of Exxon Mobil Development Company. Joining the company in 1975, his positions also included president of Exxon Neftegas Limited, vice president of Exxon Ventures (CIS) and president of Exxon Yemen and Esso Exploration and Production Khorat.

The selection process for the Petroleum Executive of the Year is administered by Energy Intelligence, which gathers nominations for the award from the heads of the 100 largest oil companies as determined by the annual company rankings by Energy Intelligence in the Energy Intelligence Top 100: Global NOC & IOC Rankings. These nominations are then voted on by a special selection committee that is made up of previous award winners and other senior oil executives.

Previous winners of the Petroleum Executive of the Year Award include Emilio Lozoya Austin of Pemex (2014), Peter Voser of Royal Dutch Shell (2013), Fu Chengyu of Sinopec (2012), José Sergio Gabrielli de Azevedo of Petrobras (2011), Andrew Gould of Schlumberger (2010), Christophe de Margerie of Total (2009), Paolo Scaroni of Eni (2008) and H.E. Abdulla al-Attiyah of Qatar (2007).

The 36th Annual Oil & Money Conference, convened by the International New York Times and Energy Intelligence, will be held on October 6-7 in London.  

Did You Like this Article? Get All the Energy Industry News Delivered to Your Inbox

Subscribe to an email newsletter today at no cost and receive the latest news and information.

 Subscribe Now


Logistics Risk Management in the Transformer Industry

Transformers often are shipped thousands of miles, involving multiple handoffs,and more than a do...

Secrets of Barco UniSee Mount Revealed

Last year Barco introduced UniSee, a revolutionary large-scale visualization platform designed to...

The Time is Right for Optimum Reliability: Capital-Intensive Industries and Asset Performance Management

Imagine a plant that is no longer at risk of a random shutdown. Imagine not worrying about losing...

Going Digital: The New Normal in Oil & Gas

In this whitepaper you will learn how Keystone Engineering, ONGC, and Saipem are using software t...

Latest PennEnergy Jobs

PennEnergy Oil & Gas Jobs