FirstEnergy Corp. and Allegheny Energy announced the senior management team that will lead the combined organization following their proposed merger.

Those retiring include Gary R. Leidich, executive vice president and president, FirstEnergy Generation, who joined the company in 1974; David C. Luff, senior vice president, Governmental Affairs, who joined the company in 1969; John E. Paganie, vice president, Customer Service and Energy Efficiency, who joined the company in 1969; Dennis J. Fuster, vice president, Project Construction, who joined the company in 1971; Ali Jamshidi, vice president, Commodity Operations, who joined the company in 1982; and Donald A. Brennan, regional president, Metropolitan Edison, who joined the company in 1971. Retirements for most of these executives will occur throughout 2011.

As previously announced, Anthony J. Alexander will remain president and CEO of FirstEnergy. Paul J. Evanson, chairman, president and CEO of Allegheny, will become executive vice chairman of FirstEnergy, reporting to Alexander.

Also reporting to Alexander will be Mark T. Clark, executive vice president and chief financial officer (CFO); Leila L. Vespoli, executive vice president and general counsel; Gary R. Leidich, executive vice president, Integration; James H. Lash, president, FirstEnergy Generation and chief nuclear officer (CNO); Charles E. Jones, president, FirstEnergy Utilities; and Lynn M. Cavalier, senior vice president, Human Resources.

Following completion of the merger, FirstEnergy Corp. will be the holding company of 10 electric utility distribution companies; FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company (FENOC); competitive subsidiary FirstEnergy Solutions Corp. (FES); and transmission operations subsidiaries. FirstEnergy distribution companies will serve six million customers throughout a 65,000-square-mile service territory in seven states. The company's subsidiaries and affiliates will own or control nearly 24,000 MW of generating capacity.

Reporting to FirstEnergy Generation President and CNO James H. Lash will be Peter P. Sena, president and chief operating officer, FENOC; Charles D. Lasky, vice president, Fossil Fleet Operations; George J. Farah, vice president, Fossil Engineering and Construction; and Raymond L. Evans, executive director, Environmental. Reporting to Sena will be Danny L. Pace, senior vice president, Fleet Engineering; Karen Fili, vice president, Fleet Oversight; Mark B. Bezilla, site vice president, Perry Nuclear Power Plant; Paul A. Harden, site vice president, Beaver Valley Power Station; and Barry S. Allen, site vice president, Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Plant. Reporting to Lasky will be Frank A. Lubich, vice president, Central Fleet Operations; Frederick G. von Ahn, vice president, North Fleet Operations; and William H. Harker, executive director, Combustion Turbine/Hydro Operations.

Read more news and features on the business of power generation,

Did You Like this Article? Get All the Energy Industry News Delivered to Your Inbox

Subscribe to an email newsletter today at no cost and receive the latest news and information.

 Subscribe Now


Logistics Risk Management in the Transformer Industry

Transformers often are shipped thousands of miles, involving multiple handoffs,and more than a do...

Secrets of Barco UniSee Mount Revealed

Last year Barco introduced UniSee, a revolutionary large-scale visualization platform designed to...

The Time is Right for Optimum Reliability: Capital-Intensive Industries and Asset Performance Management

Imagine a plant that is no longer at risk of a random shutdown. Imagine not worrying about losing...

Going Digital: The New Normal in Oil & Gas

In this whitepaper you will learn how Keystone Engineering, ONGC, and Saipem are using software t...