IPAA board elects chairman and vice chairman

At its 86th annual meeting, the Independent Petroleum Association of America (IPAA) board of directors elected Mark Miller as IPAA’s 41st chairman of the board and Stephen Jones as vice chairman for the 2015–2017 term.

Miller is president of Merlin Oil & Gas Inc., in Lafayette, Louisiana, with a small onshore operation in the Gulf Coast area. He began his career in the petroleum landman business in 1981 after leaving John E. Chance and Associates as an offshore instrument man. Miller obtained his Certified Professional Landman certification in 1987 and his Environmental Site Assessor (ESA) certification in 1991. In 1992, he co-authored a field manual for the ESA curriculum for the American Association of Petroleum Landmen (AAPL). Miller obtained a bachelor’s degree from the University of South Carolina. Miller has served as the 2013–2015 vice chairman of the Independent Petroleum Association of America. He serves on the board of the Louisiana Oil and Gas Association (LOGA), and the Foundation Board at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette (ULL). He also is on the Dean’s Advisory council for the ULL College of Business and has served as president of the Lafayette Association of Petroleum Landmen.

Jones has served as co-chairman of EnerVest since May. In 1998, he founded Jones Villalta Asset Management, where he managed and helped to grow the business until its disposition in 2012. He holds a bachelor’s degree in finance from the University of Texas at Austin and a Master of Business Administration degree from St. Edward’s University. Jones served St. Edward’s as a professor of finance and taught the investments class to both undergraduate and graduate students. He is involved in various organizations, including the Texas Oil and Gas Association and the Houston Producers’ Forum. Jones is continuing a family tradition of IPAA involvement. His father and uncle, Jon Rex Jones and A. V. Jones Jr., were both past IPAA chairmen, and his brother is also an IPAA member.

Joining Miller and Jones as IPAA board officers for the 2015–2017 term are Diemer True, treasurer; Barry Russell, president and CEO; and Mike Watford, immediate past chairman.

Did You Like this Article? Get All the Energy Industry News Delivered to Your Inbox

Subscribe to an email newsletter today at no cost and receive the latest news and information.

 Subscribe Now


Making DDoS Mitigation Part of Your Incident Response Plan: Critical Steps and Best Practices

Like a new virulent strain of flu, the impact of a distributed denial of service (DDoS) attack is...

The Multi-Tax Challenge of Managing Excise Tax and Sales Tax

To be able to accurately calculate multiple tax types, companies must be prepared to continually ...

Operational Analytics in the Power Industry

Cloud computing, smart grids, and other technologies are changing transmission and distribution. ...

Maximizing Operational Excellence

In a recent survey conducted by PennEnergy Research, 70% of surveyed energy industry professional...