OTC 2016: Distinguished Achievement Award winners revealed

Offshore staff

HOUSTON – As part of the OTC Distinguished Achievement Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, May 3, the conference will recognize Robert (Don) Vardeman of Anadarko Petroleum Corp. for individual achievement, the Marine Technology Society Dynamic Positioning Committee for institutional achievement, and both George Hirasaki and Yuri Makogon with its Heritage Award.

Don Vardeman will be honored with the Distinguished Achievement Award for Individuals for his significant leadership and extensive contributions to global deepwater developments. He currently serves as vice president of worldwide project management for Anadarko Petroleum Corp.

In 2015, Vardeman celebrated 40 years in the exploration and production field and was elected to the Offshore Energy Center’s Pioneer Hall of Fame. He is a member of Texas A&M University’s Engineering Advisory Council and has served as the chairman of the OTC board of directors.

The Marine Technology Society Dynamic Positioning (DP) Committee will be presented with this award for facilitating incident-free DP operations through sharing of knowledge. Comprised of a committee of dedicated volunteers, it provides vessel owners, operators, marine class societies, engineers, and regulators with valuable tools such as conferences and workshops.

In addition, it shares extensive guidance documents covering DP design philosophy, operations, and professional development and has developed a growing set of unique documents called TECHOP, which address specific topics of significant interest and impact.

The first of two Heritage Awards will be presented to George Hirasaki. He is being recognized for his extensive research on reservoir simulation, enhanced oil recovery, formation evaluation, well logging, and reservoir wettability.

Hirasaki enjoyed a 26-year career with Shell before joining the chemical engineering faculty at Rice University in 1993. An active member of the National Academy of Engineers, he has received honors such as the Improved Oil Recovery Pioneer and Society of Core Analysts Technical Achievement Award.

The second Heritage Award recipient, Yuri Makogon, is an expert on gas hydrates and an astute research scholar of the water-gas phase behavior in the Earth’s stratum. He has discovered the existence of tremendous gas reserves in the hydrate form and expanded the knowledge of a number of important new physical gas hydrate properties, plus researched kinetics, morphology, and transformation of hydrate crystals.

Makogon has authored 270 scientific papers, 29 patents, and eight books during his work in oil and gas education and research experience, which has spanned nearly six decades. He is also an artist and has created more than 20 paintings.

Did You Like this Article? Get All the Energy Industry News Delivered to Your Inbox

Subscribe to an email newsletter today at no cost and receive the latest news and information.

 Subscribe Now


Making DDoS Mitigation Part of Your Incident Response Plan: Critical Steps and Best Practices

Like a new virulent strain of flu, the impact of a distributed denial of service (DDoS) attack is...

The Multi-Tax Challenge of Managing Excise Tax and Sales Tax

To be able to accurately calculate multiple tax types, companies must be prepared to continually ...

Operational Analytics in the Power Industry

Cloud computing, smart grids, and other technologies are changing transmission and distribution. ...

Maximizing Operational Excellence

In a recent survey conducted by PennEnergy Research, 70% of surveyed energy industry professional...