Commissioner Moeller to leave FERC at end of October

Phillip Moeller

Commissioner Philip D. Moeller announced Oct. 6 in intends to leave the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission at the end of October.

Moeller, of Washington, confirmed in May he would not seek a third term on the commission. While his term expired in June, the Republican is allowed to remain in the seat until the Senate recesses in December.

Although Moeller said in May that he would serve until a successor is confirmed, President Obama has not named a candidate to succeed him. Published reports had said Pat McCormick III, the chief Republican counsel for the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, was a top candidate for the post. However, a recent report indicated McCormick might not be interested in the job.

"FERC is an amazing agency and I have been honored and privileged to have had the opportunity to serve our nation as a FERC commissioner," Moeller said. "After leaving the commission, I plan to pursue other opportunities in the energy field."

Moeller was named to the commission by President George W. Bush in 2006 and was renominated by President Obama in 2010. Prior to joining the commission, Moeller worked in Washington, D.C., for Alliant Energy Corp. and Calpine Corp. From 1997-2000, he was energy policy adviser to Sen. Slade Gorton, R-Wash.

Moeller testified before a House subcommittee in 2013, telling lawmakers that hydropower licensing might be accelerated if Congress could compel state and federal resource agencies to meet deadlines in the licensing process.

Moeller's departure is the latest in a series of changes at the five-member regulatory agency.

Commissioner Norman C. Bay became FERC chairman April 15 under terms of a compromise that had ensured Senate confirmation of his nomination to the commission last year. Bay, a Democrat, succeeded Chairman Cheryl LaFleur, also a Democrat, who stepped down from the leadership post but retains her commission seat under Bay's leadership.

Last December, the Senate confirmed Obama's nomination of Arkansas utility regulator Colette Honorable, a Democrat, to fill the remainder of the term of Commissioner John Norris who announced his resignation in August. Honorable is to serve until June 2017.

The sole remaining Republican on the panel is Anthony Clark, whose term expires in 2016.

No more than three members of the same party may serve on the five-member commission.

Did You Like this Article? Get All the Energy Industry News Delivered to Your Inbox

Subscribe to an email newsletter today at no cost and receive the latest news and information.

 Subscribe Now


The Time is Right for Optimum Reliability: Capital-Intensive Industries and Asset Performance Management

Imagine a plant that is no longer at risk of a random shutdown. Imagine not worrying about losing...

Going Digital: The New Normal in Oil & Gas

In this whitepaper you will learn how Keystone Engineering, ONGC, and Saipem are using software t...

Maximizing Operational Excellence

In a recent survey conducted by PennEnergy Research, 70% of surveyed energy industry professional...

Leveraging the Power of Information in the Energy Industry

Information Governance is about more than compliance. It’s about using your information to drive ...

Latest PennEnergy Jobs

PennEnergy Oil & Gas Jobs