Winners of the Best Technical Papers awards presented at HydroVision International 2015


Authors of 15 technical papers and poster presentations received Best Technical Papers awards at HydroVision International 2015 in Portland, Ore., the week of July 13.

These awards are given to the strongest technical papers presented over the three days of the conference program. The winners were chosen by the HydroVision International 2015 technical papers committee. Committee members reviewed all technical papers and poster gallery presentations received in five categories:

1. Environmental & Social

2. Equipment & Technology

3. Market Trends & Strategies

4. Project Management & Operations

5. Water Management & Movement

Awards were announced for the first, second and third place winners in each of these categories.

For Environmental & Social, the winners were:

·    First place, A Numerical Model for Spillway Jet Regimes and Total Dissolved Gas by Marcela Politano, Yushi Wang, Ryan Laughery and Larry Weber, IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

·    Second place, Environmental Optimization of Aerating Turbines: A Case Study by Patrick March, Hydro Performance Processes; Paul Wolff, WolffWare Ltd.; James Sykes, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; and Paul Jacobson, Electric Power Research Institute

·    Third place, Total Dissolved Gas (TDG) Prediction & Implementation within Optimization Scheduling Model for the Mid-Columbia River System by Kevin Stewart, Adam Witt and Boualem Hadjerioua, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Marcela Politano, IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering; Timothy Magee, CADSWES, University of Colorado at Boulder; Scott DeNeale, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Merlynn Bender, Bureau of Reclamation; and Abigail R. Maloof, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

For Equipment & Technology, the winners were:

·    First place, A Novel Approach Solving High Intermittent Vibrations following Modernisation and Upgrade Project by Enes Zulovic, Acutel Consulting

·    Second place, Economic Feasibility in the U.S. Markets for Modular Pumped Storage Hydro - Case Study Preliminary Results by Adam Witt and Boualem Hadjerioua, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Norm Bishop, Knight Piesold and Co.; and Rocio Uria-Martinez and Marisol Bonnet, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

·    Third place, End-winding Vibration Monitoring for Hydro Generators by Sylvain Giroux and Denis Bussieres, Rio Tinto Alcan, and Andre Tetreault, VibroSystM

For Market Trends & Strategies, the winners were:

·    First place, Operational Capabilities and Valuation of Benefits Provided by Advanced Pumped Storage Hydropower Technologies by Vladimir Koritarov, Argonne National Laboratory; Tao Guo, Energy Exemplar; Erik Ela, Electric Power Research Institute; Bruno Trouille, MWH Americas; James Feltes, Siemens PTI; Ibrahim Krad, National Renewable Energy Laboratory; and Charlton Clark, U.S. Department of Energy

·    Second place, Parametric Cost Modeling for National-Scale Hydropower Feasibility by Scott DeNeale, Patrick O’Connor, Dol Raj Chalise, Emma Centurion, Abigail Maloof, and Nicole Samu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

·    Third place, Quantifying the Cost of Unit Outages across the USACE Hydropower Facilities by Mark Parrish, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

For Project Management & Operations, the winners were:

·    First place, The 84-MW New Bong Escape Hydropower Project - First Privately Developed Hydropower Facility in Pakistan - Challenges and Solutions by S. Hasnain Haider, Laraib Energy; and S. Mark Allen, MWH

·    Second place, Expanding Hydro’s Contribution to Grid Stability by Matthew Roberts, Roger Clarke-Johnson and Gerald Runyan, American Governor Co.

·    Third place, Foz Tua Pump-turbines - Design Approach to Extend Plant Operating Range by Peter Magauer, Andritz Hydro

For Water Management & Movement, the winners were:

·    First place, Development and Application of a Standardized Flow Measurement Uncertainty Analysis Framework to Various Low-head Short-converging Intake Types across the United States Federal Hydropower Fleet by Kyutae Lee, Mark Christian and Brennan Smith, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

·    Second place, Approaches for Probabilistic Flooding Hazard Assessment by Ahmed Dababneh and Jeffrey Oskamp, RIZZO Associates

·    Third place, High-Fidelity Reservoir Water Quality Model Emulation by Artificial Neural Network by Amelia Shaw, Heather Smith Sawyer and Eugene J. LeBouef, Vanderbilt University; and Mark McDonald, Lipscomb University

The winners of this award were presented with plaques and certificates at the event.

For more on HydroVision International, which will be held in Minneapolis in 2016, visit

Did You Like this Article? Get All the Energy Industry News Delivered to Your Inbox

Subscribe to an email newsletter today at no cost and receive the latest news and information.

 Subscribe Now


Logistics Risk Management in the Transformer Industry

Transformers often are shipped thousands of miles, involving multiple handoffs,and more than a do...

Secrets of Barco UniSee Mount Revealed

Last year Barco introduced UniSee, a revolutionary large-scale visualization platform designed to...

The Time is Right for Optimum Reliability: Capital-Intensive Industries and Asset Performance Management

Imagine a plant that is no longer at risk of a random shutdown. Imagine not worrying about losing...

Going Digital: The New Normal in Oil & Gas

In this whitepaper you will learn how Keystone Engineering, ONGC, and Saipem are using software t...

Latest PennEnergy Jobs

PennEnergy Oil & Gas Jobs