HydroVision International 2013 Attendee Choice Awards announced

HydroVision - New View

The editors of Hydro Review and HRW-Hydro Review Worldwide magazines announced the HydroVision International 2013 Attendee Choice Award recipients during the recent event's closing luncheon.

With more than 70 sessions featured during this year's HydroVision International conference slate, the top three from each of the event's days were selected via attendee voting.

Receiving Awards for Wednesday are:

  • 1) Session 2C: Development of a Successful Hydro. Moderated by Christopher Ball (CFI Capital), with Richard Blanchet (Innergex Renewable Energy Inc.), Daniele Boscolo Meneguolo (Sorgent.e), Ben Kaun (Electric Power Research Institute) and Dan Woznow (AltaGas Ltd.)
  • 2) Session 2A: Keeping All the Moving Parts in Synch -- Logistics and Sequencing of Modernization Activities. Moderated by Mark Boyle (Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior), Kris Atanassov (MWH Americas Inc.), Gregory Lewis (Duke Energy), Suzanne Ton (Hydro-Quebec), Scott Torvik (Alstom) and Eric Vaughn (Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior).
  • 3) Session 1C: Where is Tomorrow's Hydro? Latest Hydropower Resource Assessments. Moderated by Kerry McCalman (Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior), with Jason Busch (Oregon Wave Energy Trust), Lewis Dixon (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers), Kurt Johnson (Telluride Energy), Michael Pulskamp (Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior), Kamau Sadiki (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers) and Brennan Smith (Oak Ridge National Laboratory).

Receiving awards for Thursday are:

  • 1) Session 4A: Moving Toward Extraordinary -- Understanding What New Workers Need to Excel in Their Jobs. Moderated by Kyle Burns (LG&E and KU Energy), with Herbie Johnson (Southern Company), Andrew Rye (Mighty River Power Ltd.), Karen Studarus (University of Washington), Jamie Studinski (Basler Electric Company) and Andrew Ware (Weir American Hydro).
  • 2) Session 3A: Coming Across the Finish Line -- Building a Commissioning Plan that Works. Moderated by Steve Wenke (Avista Utilities), with Shannon Brown (Meridium), Stanley Hayes (MWH Americas, Inc.), Andre Tetreault (VibroSystM) and John Yale (Chelan County Public Utility District).
  • 3) (Tie) Session 4C: Rehabilitation of Federal/Existing Facilities in the Next 10-20 Years. Moderated by Kamu Sadiki (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers), with Francois Berthiaume (Alstom Power Inc. Hydro USA), Kevin Frank (Voith Hydro, Inc.), Stanley Kocon (Voith Hydro) and Christopher Vick (Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior).
  • 3) (Tie) Session 4D: Technology and Project Status -- Tidal and In-Stream. Moderated by Robert Thresher (National Renewable Energy Laboratory), with Raphael Arlitt (Voith Hydro Ocean Current Technologies GmbH & Co. KG), M.P. Cherian (DLZ Corporation), Alex Fleming (Snohomish County PUD) and Kim Moore (Snohomish County PUD).

Receiving awards for Friday are:

  • 1) Session 7A: What's Going On In There? Improving Condition Assessment Methods and Tools. Moderated by Richard Nelson (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers), with Christopher Brown (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers), James Clune (Bonneville Power Administration), Matt Dau (Bonneville Power Administration), Jean-Louis Drommi (Electricite de France) and Chip Stalica (Pacific Gas & Electric).
  • 2) Session 7C: Hydro Development Without a Dam. Moderated by Mike Applegate (Applegate Group), with Jim Heneghan (Delta Montrose Electric Association), Egil Opsahl (CleanPower AS), Sonya Reiser (Knight Piesold and Company) and Nathan Smith (Denver Water).
  • 3) (Tie) Sessioin 6B: How Long Will Your Dam Last? Moderated by C. Richard Donnelly (Hatch), with Greg Baecher (University of Maryland), William Fiedler (Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior), Minal Parekh (Colorado School of Mines) and Stephen Rigbey (BC Hydro).
  • 3) (Tie) Session 7B: Public Safety Around Dams: What is Your Liability? Moderated by James Weldon (James Weldon and Associates, LLC), with Gilles Bourgeois (Genvair Inc.), Jack Byers (Bureau of Indian Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior) and Mac Mikkelsen (Avista Corporation).

Also presented during the HydroVision International closing luncheon were awards for Best Technical Papers and honors for this year's Hydro Hall of Fame inductees.

HydroVision International 2014 takes place July 22-25 in Nashville, Tenn.

For more information about the event, or to submit technical paper abstracts and panel presentations for the 2014 conference, visit HydroEvent.com.

HydroVision Hashtag

Did You Like this Article? Get All the Energy Industry News Delivered to Your Inbox

Subscribe to an email newsletter today at no cost and receive the latest news and information.

 Subscribe Now


Logistics Risk Management in the Transformer Industry

Transformers often are shipped thousands of miles, involving multiple handoffs,and more than a do...

Secrets of Barco UniSee Mount Revealed

Last year Barco introduced UniSee, a revolutionary large-scale visualization platform designed to...

The Time is Right for Optimum Reliability: Capital-Intensive Industries and Asset Performance Management

Imagine a plant that is no longer at risk of a random shutdown. Imagine not worrying about losing...

Going Digital: The New Normal in Oil & Gas

In this whitepaper you will learn how Keystone Engineering, ONGC, and Saipem are using software t...

Latest PennEnergy Jobs

PennEnergy Oil & Gas Jobs